cruzer1

*Unconfirmed rumor*

But very likely possible. It seems the Lions will announce Jim Schwartz tommorrow. I will look for confirmation.

http://www.mlive.com/lions/index.ssf/2009/01/lions_silence_likely_means_tha.html

Lions' silence likely means that something is brewing

by Tom Kowalski | Opinion

Thursday January 15, 2009, 1:08 PM

It's way too quiet.

There is nothing -- absolutely nothing -- coming out of Allen Park today and my suspicion is that the Lions are putting the final touches on securing a new head coach. I have no hard knowledge of this, but I've seen this before -- the quiet before the storm.

Consider that the Lions moved very rapidly when a couple of their candidates (Jim Schwartz and Ron Rivera) became free over the weekend -- holding interviews Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. Now it's Thursday and nothing is going on. Reports are that two other possible candidates haven't been contacted recently -- Vikings defensive coordinator Leslie Frazier and Giants defensive coordinator Steve Spagnuolo.

It's possible that the Lions have made their decision and negotiations are already underway. An announcement could come later this afternoon or tomorrow. Again, I haven't been able to get any confirmation on that yet but I do know this -- it's way too quiet in Allen Park today.

Stay tuned.

Trading Roy Williams for 3 draft picks and hiring Jim Schwartz. Can't complain about what management has done since Millen was fired.

Trading Roy Williams for 3 draft picks and hiring Jim Schwartz. Can't complain about what management has done since Millen was fired.

Do Not Drink the Cool-aid. It could be toxic.

+1, I was disappointing that they didnt look for an outside hire when looking at a GM, but you cant really complain with what Mayhew has done so far.

Hopefully they can get Schwartz and then get a personnel guy to come in.

The personnel guy might have to wait until after the draft, when those that are currently under contract become available.