Buddahfan

Who Would Give Up To Get Troy Tulowitzki?

He is young

He is a definite potential gold glove shortstop. I am watching the Dodger Rockie game and this guy is making plays that make Furcal look like Guillen. LOL

http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/stats/fielding?groupId=8&season=2007&seasonType=2&split=82&sortOrder=true&sortColumn=fieldingPct

and he looks like he could become a decent hitting shortstop.

you are not going to get him from colorado

why would Colorado trade him? that would be like us trading Granderson

I wouldn't give up, I'd keep trying...

That's all I can ask. Just give it your best shot.

Isn't he a third baseman by trade? At least that is what he played in the minors. And from his stats a not very good one.

http://www.thebaseballcube.com/players/S/Ian-Stewart.shtml

http://www.minorleaguebaseball.com/external/brandedstats/t998.html?cid=551&lid=112&t=t_ibp&sid=milb

I'll bite...Why isn't he a very good third baseman based on those stats? He's 22 and has a career minor league OPS just shy of .900.

-Tony

He's a true ss. He'll be a major leaguer for at least 15 years and will hit!

Detroit would have to trade some major young talent................JJ/Grandy type trade to get HIM. That might work if they package Troy and Stewart, but, as DD hesitates to move star players, he'll not get star players either.

Thus, this thread is effectively dead.

Non-issue. Who is going to trade a 21 year old shortstop that is mashing at the major league level?

"Mashing" is a relative term. Are people forgetting that Colorado is a hitting incubator? Tulowitzki's .286/.358/.444 with 15 home runs looks great in the paper, but it adjusts to an OPS+ of 103. That three percent better than the average major league player.