Jump to content

RedRamage

Moderators
  • Content Count

    22,690
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

137 Excellent

About RedRamage

  • Rank
    MotownSports Fan
  • Birthday 12/05/1971

Converted

  • Location
    GR, MI

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Does he wear his socks high?
  2. I can just see the Lions offering a new GM position to someone and the guy goes: "Well... I just don't know. I mean, I like the money, I like the city... I think I can really build something great here.... everything is good for me... but... geez... not having a 6th round pick in the 2021 draft? That's sorta a deal breaker. Sorry..."
  3. The difference here is clear evidence that the ball carrier did not intend to go further. (Don't ask me how we have clear evidence... it's my hypothetical... I can make the rules!) In your examples it's all cases where the ball carrier welcomes the additionally yardage. Edit to add: The crux of the question might be the intent though and the inability to determine it. My hypothetical is perhaps a fun thought experiment, but the reality is that it's rarely ever each to know the full intent, or to determine what should happen as a result of intent. It's easy to say the ball carrier did not intend to go backwards, so defenders picking him up and carrying him 5 yards in the wrong direction is obviously not what he wanted. But forward progress is a different animal. 99% of the time (if not more) the offense wants forward progress. Trying to determine in those rare occasions when the player may NOT want progress is pretty darn hard, so instead of intent, just look at what happens. Did the player put his knee down? Yes? Okay... he's down. Did he not? Okay, then forward progress is marked where the ball or knee did come down.
  4. What I'd like to know if how Golladay wasn't ruled a defenseless receiver on the catch at the 1-miunute mark of this video.
  5. That brings up another interesting questions.. does the NFL have a rule about this? I mean, obviously you can't pick up a guy and carry him backwards... the ball carrier gets forward progress. But what happens if Gurley, for example, stopped at the endzone... I mean clearly wasn't trying to go over, but before he could take a knee a defender "tackles" him from and pushes him into the endzone? I don't know if we've ever seen that in a game, but I'm SURE there has been instances were defenders shoved/tackled a ball carrier out of bounds when he was trying to stay inbounds to keep the clock running.
  6. I don't think that's necessarily true. The "good news" if you're looking for the Quintricia to get the ax is that we end up against GB, Tennessee, TB, and Minny. It's entirely possible that we end the season with a 4 game losing streak. Now, if we'd faced this "lowly" section of teams at the end, then maybe, but there's still time for the team to fail.
  7. Honestly, I can't remember seeing it that often or paying attention enough so my memory of events is not a good source of information here, plus I wouldn't put it past the NFL to have different rules in the final two minutes. Look, I don't want to make too big a deal of this. I assume that they would put the time on. It seems the logical thing to do and I feel like I've probably witnessed it in games. I'm not trying to say that the NFL won't do it. I was just wondering out loud. Given my status as a Lions fan nothing surprises me too much anymore. In my jaded state it wouldn't shock me if the NFL has some weird rule that in this exact circumstance time was not allowed to added back on.
  8. Well, it shouldn't be in imho (putting time back on the clock if they reverse a catch to an incomplete catch), but just because I think a certain rule makes sense doesn't mean the NFL does.
  9. You are correct. They couldn't challenge that. Still would have been fun to see. (And on a side note: I hate that the coaches aren't allowed to challenge in the final two minutes. I'm fine with allowing the replay booth to challenge plays, but I think coaches, if they have challenges left, should also be allowed to do that.)
  10. Either him or Kenny Albert.
  11. I remember that... thinking why the heck are you mentioning this? A FG does no good.
  12. Giving credit where due... I think this was handled the right way. I understand the necessity of the replay booth having to wait until the last second to buzz in as you don't want to give the offense an extra TO. And I think it was explained correctly why a 10 second run off what's done. That's only done with an overturned ruling changes a stopped clock to a running clock. Now on a side note: I wonder if they have overturned this call... would they have put time back on the clock? I think they should have as the clock should have stopped as soon as the ball would have been called incomplete.
  13. I honestly expected to see Atlanta challenge the call. How odd would that have been? Seeing a team challenge their own TD to try and get it reversed?
  14. -- as a Professional. Because... I dunno... maybe he played some game between when he finished college and the Lions drafted him?!?
  15. Yes please!! Same thing every week. Either the ST coaching staff is unable to get Agnews to stop doing, or they are too stupid to tell him not to do it. This is just unacceptable to me. 2nd Qtr: 2 yards deep, tackled at the 21. 3rd Qtr: 3 yards deep, tackled at the 14. Two run out attempts that risk fumbles and/or penalties for a net gain of.... negative 13 yards. Just cause I felt like, here's Agnew's season summary: Week 1: Two times taking it out of the endzone, net +10 yards. (Yes, actually passed the 25 twice!) Week 2: One attempt: -2 yards Week 3: Two attempts: -7 yards Week 4: Two attempts: -5 yards Week 5: Bye Week 6: No attempts Week 7: Two attempts: -13 yards I mean if he was breaking for a big gain every now and then... doesn't even have to be a TD... just a good 20 or 30 yards beyond the 25 once every other game, then it's probably worth the risk and the few lost yards on the other attempts. But this isn't happened. Except in the first game against the bears he has NEVER even gotten tot he 25! He's got a net +/- on kicks offs this year of -17 yards. I wouldn't say that's awful, but it's still negative which means over all he's hurting the team when he tries to take it out of the endzone. Now add in the risk of a holding penalty and the possibility of a fumble and it goes from a bad idea to a horrible one. Unless the opposing team is known for giving up lots of yards on kick offs I would tell Agnew to never leave the endzone with the ball.
×
×
  • Create New...